Certification & Licensure


Certification Facts

  • The Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf (RID) credentials Signed Language interpreters on a national level.
  • In order to be fully licensed in the state of New Mexico, it is required that interpreters obtain a nationally recognized certification.
  • Several versions of national level testing have been implemented through RID. Previously offered RID certifications are still fully recognized as valid measurements of an interpreter’s skills.
  • In order to maintain certification, interpreters are required to participate in professional development activities which are tracked by RID.
  • To ensure that you are hiring a qualified interpreter, hiring entities and consumers of interpreting services may ask an interpreter to show a valid RID membership card stating their current certification, along with proof of state licensure.

 


Licensure Facts

  • Interpreting licensure laws vary from state to state
  • The state of New Mexico requires all interpreters to be licensed
  • Licensure helps to protect consumers of interpreting services
  • Practicing interpreting without a license is a misdemeanor and individuals practicing without a license can be jailed or fined up to $1000
  • Specialized settings can require specialized skills. It is the responsibility of the interpreter to only accept work within his or her qualifications and skillsets
  • The Signed Language Interpreting Board maintains a searchable database of licensed interpreters

 


Types of Licensure

  • Community License: given to interpreters who hold RID generalist certificates
    • Initial application cost: $65
  • Educational License: given to interpreters who have Ed: K-12 certification from RID
    • Initial application cost: $65
  • Provisional License: given to interpreters who have graduated from an interpreting training program, passed the RID written test, but have not yet achieved RID: Certification
    • Initial application cost: $40

 



Licensure Renewal

  • Interpreters holding a community or educational interpreting license must renew every two years
    • Renewal Fee: $50
  • Interpreters holding a provisional interpreting license must renew annually
    • Renewal Fee: $25
  • Late renewals are charged a $20 late fee
  • Interpreters must keep contact information up-to-date with the Signed Language Interpreting Practice Board, so that they can receive notifications about renewal
  • It is the interpreter’s responsibility to be aware of when his or her license expires and renew it

 


Interpreting Standards

Courts in New Mexico:

  • NM Court Interpreters must meet higher standards of interpreting
  • Three categories dictate settings where interpreters can work:
    • Certified: Legal Specialist: These interpreters have achieved the SC: L or CDI credentials from RID
    • Certified: Legally Qualified : These interpreters have passed the SC: L written test, or, for Deaf interpreters, have sufficient legal training
    • Certified: Legal Apprentice : There interpreters have experience interpreting in other settings, but have just begun working in legal settings and cannot interpret at trials or with juries

 


For more information on licensure, please see the Signed Language Interpreting Practice Board Website.